The Marton-Wanganui Ultramarathon covers approximately 66.4km along the back roads between the towns of Marton and Wanganui. The ultramarathon is run in conjunction with the Marton-Wanganui Relay.

I like this event so much that I have competed in it for ten of the twelve years that it has been running: five times as a runner and five times as a walker.

On this site you will find:

Links to race reports:

21 September 2013

2013 Historical Year for Women

The 2013 race was held on Saturday 14 September. For the second time in 12 years I wasn't able to attend - a pity because otherwise there would have been a record number of competitors in the event. As it was there were 12 runners on the day, equal with the previous best year of 2007.

For the first time in the 12 year history of the solo event, a woman won the race outright. Congratulations to Nicola Ayson, who won in a time of 6:26:06, recording the second fastest women's time in the history of the event. The fastest man was Perry Newburn, 10 minutes behind Nicola in a time of 6:36:29.

In a stand-out difference from previous years, there were also four women competing this year, double the previous best of just two. The other women were Kate Townsley and Shannon Leigh-Litt (both 6:42:26 and equal fourth-fastest women's time), and Barb Carson (6:54:47).

This was also a year for significant movement on the Roll of Honour. Four runners moved up a spot: Ashley Smith (8), Albie Jane (6), Perry Newburn (5), and Brian Prescott (3). Steve Ackerman appears on the Roll for the first time, recording his second finish.

The results and stats on this site have been updated.

15 September 2012

2012 Race

The weather forecast for this year's race was atrocious. But the forecast heavy rain held off until near 3pm, and prior to that there was only the odd patch of drizzle. The wind, on the other hand, seemed to be a head wind for perhaps 3/4 of the way!

The official results have been posted by the Wanganui Harrier Club. Grant Jacobs won the race in a time of 6:27:48, having run to Wanganui from Hawera the day before.

The stats on this site have also been updated. On the Roll of Honour, Andrew Shelley becomes the first person to achieve 10 finishes, Carl Laffan moves up to four finishes, and Brian Prescott joins to the Roll with two finishes. Two members of the Roll of Honour that were unable to join us this year were Perry Newburn and Vivian Cheng. Perry was unable to add to his total of four finishes because he is running the circumference of New Zealand, and Vivian was unable to add to her total of three finishes because she was representing New Zealand at the World 24 Hour Championships.

18 September 2011

2011 Race

The official results have been posted by the Wanganui Harrier Club, and the stats on this site have been updated.

Brent Harris set a new course record of 5:10:36, commenting afterwards that

[It] turns out the Marton to Wanganui race was a little tougher than expected. Great day out though in terms of the race and the people. Will be back at this one for sure!

After several years absence and a hip replacement Albie Jane made a return to the event and clocked up his 5th finish, this time as a walker. Also on the Roll of Honour, Andrew Shelley now has 9 finishes, Perry Newburn moves up to 4 finishes, and Vivian Cheng and Carl Laffan both move up to 3 finishes. Unfortunately there were no new additions to the Roll.

20 September 2010


The race date for 2011 is 10 September. Entry forms are available on the Wanganui Harrier Club website or by clicking here.